2019 Jury

The Jury is comprised of professional dance filmmakers who are producing exceptional work. They screen the final selections for the festival and choose the winner for the Jury Award.


Katherine Helen Fisher

Katherine Helen Fisher is a filmmaker, director, producer, choreographer and performer whose work explores the intersection between dance and new media.

She is co-founder of Safety Third Productions, a media company designing short-form movement-based digital content.

Katherine has movement directed music videos for Radiohead and Rufus Wainwright. In 2017 her film, CEILING, won the award for Best Dance Short at the San Francisco Dance Film Festival. Her work for the stage and screen has been presented by Joe’s Pub, Radio City Music Hall, Judson Church, Danspace Project, Art Basel Switzerland, The Smithsonian National Museum of American History, The Palm Springs Art Museum, The Hammer Museum, Lincoln Center's Dance Films Association, 40 North Film Festival, American Dance Festival: Movies by Movers, SV Presents on the SVLA1 Billboard in DTLA, LACMA, the 2016 Microsoft Global Exchange Conference and, most recently, the Parisian fashion brand Hermès. [Photo Credit: Tyson Wheatley @twheat for #camerasanddancers]



Barney Cokeliss is a multi-award-winning film-maker, whose work has been selected for festivals including Sundance, Venice and TIFF.

His film ‘Night Dancing’ won the Jury Prize at the 2018 LA Dance Film Festival, among several international awards during its festival run.

His stereoscopic short ‘The Foundling’ won the Lumière Award for 3D film-making, and he has directed several hundred tv commercials around the world, for clients including Lexus, Volkswagen, Credit Suisse and Macmillan Cancer Support. Barney’s work reflects his talent for cinematic storytelling, emotive expression and authenticity.  "I'm drawn to projects where I get both to create cinematic impact and deliver something powerfully human", he says.  

Steven Butler_headshot 1.jpg


Steven Butler is a multi-talented creative with an open mind, passion for storytelling and an aptitude for intersecting multiple art forms. He harbors the stage presence, confidence, and spatial awareness of a dancer; the storytelling ability of a seasoned writer and filmmaker; and the social responsibility of an informed artist. He began his creative career as a dancer and choreographer with credits including Transformers 2, The Latin Grammy’s, Weeds, Good Morning America and artists including Ludacris, Nick Carter, Aaron Carter, Paulina Rubio, Cheat Codes and Macy Gray. He received a Bachelor of Arts in film from ArtCenter College of Design, graduating with distinction. His directing credits include music videos for Precarious Records, Ultra Records, and Raid Records. He has also received recognition for his writing, directing, and producing from Slamdance, The Addy Awards, Zooppa, Standard Vision and the Academy of Television & Sciences Blue Ribbon Panel.


Kristin Martini Brody

Kristin Martini Brody is a Los Angeles-based television executive. Originally from Philadelphia, she followed her love for TV  to Ithaca College, where she interned for ER and UGLY BETTY, while continuing her dance career with IC Unbound. She's worked on such shows as SHAMELESS, ANIMAL KINGDOM and SOUTHLAND, and was an associate producer on the film BURNT. She currently works as the Vice President of Television at John Wells Productions. In her spare time, she dances and choreographs with LA Unbound, as well as serves on their Advisory Board.



Nathan Kim is a Los Angeles based filmmaker originally from the island of Maui. He got his start as a professional dancer, working in movement for 10 years before stepping behind the camera to develop his own work. He pulls inspiration from themes of nature, community, mathematics, and spirituality; creating music videos, fashion films, narrative work, as well as a variety of explorational dance and music pieces through his Humanshapes project. His work has been featured at Tribeca Film Festival, Dance Camera West and on Nowness.

View Past Juries

2018 Jury

2017 Jury